User Roles and Permissions

User roles can be managed by all users with the 'roles' permission and access to the organization settings. To manage user roles, go to the organization settings and then go to User management > Roles. Here you can see a list of all roles of your organization.

In this article

Default Roles

We've created three default roles which can't be edited or deleted. On top of these roles, you can create your own roles.
Admin
User with the admin role have access to everything but the billing and plan information. When added to a specific environment the admin can has access to everything within this environment, including environment specific user management. When added to the organization settings, an admin can manage users from all environments of your organization. 
Editor
The editor can manage, create and delete Publications, Stories and Media. It can also read Engagement. This role does not have functions within the organization settings, but only on the environment level.

Developer
Developers have the same content production rights as editors, but on top of this they can create and manage webhooks and access tokens. Developers will also see API details of objects in Prepr.

Add or Edit Roles

On top of the default roles, you can manage your own roles. To create a role, click ' Add role' and give the role a name (required). On this page, you can specify the permissions of this role. Each permission gives access to the corresponding pages.

When creating or editing roles, please be aware of the following principles:

  • When you select 'Default user role', this role will automatically be added when creating a new user.
  • Select 'Show API details' to show API details of every object in Prepr. The default role Developer uses this option.
  • When given the 'Publications' permission, you are able to select one or more specific publication model(s) the user can access. Leave empty when the user may use all publications of all publication models.
Note: Changes in a role will have effect within a minute.

Duplicate roles

When you want to use a specific role as a template for new customized roles, you can duplicate the original role. Select the ' Duplicate' function in the role list. You can't duplicate the default user roles.

Owner(ship)

Another role you can manage is the Owner role. There can only be one owner per organization. The owner will have admin rights for all environments. You can transfer ownership to another user in the organization details of your subscription (See Account Ownership).